Style of Mine

The adventures and struggles of a petite, geeky journalist-in-training living in New Zealand.

Out of Africa

Wearing vintage houndstooth wool skirt, grey button ankle booties, grey blouse, vintage white lace scarf, khaki jacket and dangly faux pearl earrings.

 

Summer is holding on with quite a bit of tenacity. It was reallyquite warm today, although not unbearably hot, even with the wool skirt. I was inspired by those safari outfits in films set during the forties and fifties. These boots are probably some of the highest heels I own, barring a pair of cocktail shoes that I only wear for special occasions because they are impossible to stand in for any long periods of time. I could stand for a long time in these boots, but in the future, if I’m wearing them, I shall wait for the bus that stops almost at my doorstep.

On the topic of high heels, there are certain guidelines that need to be followed. No, I’m not going to talk about what sort of heel people of certain shapes and sizes should wear. That’s not for me to decide. However, if you can’t walk in them without wobbling or limping, then you shouldn’t be wearing them. It’s bad for your health and it defeats the whole point of wearing heels because that does not look sexy at all. There are online tutorials teaching people how to walk in heels. I found them to be rather useful.  

Leave a Reply

