Style of Mine

The adventures and struggles of a petite, geeky journalist-in-training living in New Zealand.

Sheep Country

Wearing grey woollen vest, silver merino sweater dress, grey wool blend coat, studded platform booties, tribal earrings and assorted rings.

I actually managed to keep the rings on for the whole day, instead of taking them off halfway through like I usually do. Of course, I wore them on my left hand, which makes them less of an impediment to movement, since I am mostly right handed. While it is not true that New Zealand is a country of sheep farmers –people are increasingly becoming cattle farmers, I’ll have you know– we do wear a lot of wool. Merino, in particular. It’s like the poor man’s cashmere, or in this case, the poor student’s cashmere. It’s light, relatively soft and un-prickly, and very warm enough when worn under something else, which was just as well, because by the time I went home from university today, it was starting to get chilly.

I have a wad of academic papers to plough through. I think that together, they’re as long as the Fellowship of the Ring, except way way drier. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

