Style of Mine

The adventures and struggles of a petite, geeky journalist-in-training living in New Zealand.

Easy Breezy

Wearing faux leather biker jacket, long cotton hippie skirt, cow girl vest, old school blouse and brown buckle boots.

I decided to try the boho trend for Friday. I was feeling exhausted and I needed something relaxing to wear. This long skirt is one of the pieces I got during the beginning of my infatuation with fashion, when I bought a great load of ‘basics’, but had never really figured out how to wear it. This is the first time it’s actually kinda worked for me.  The outfit is not so ‘boho’ as reminiscent of nineteenth century schoolteachers’ clothing, when women wore those long full skirts with lace up boots, not unlike sleeker Doc Martens.

I had a tutoring session today, and I missed the bus so I actually had to walk for twenty minutes to get to the library. I’ve consumed so much caffeine, grease and processed carbohydrates today in orde to keep my energy up as I’ve been on the go since six thirty in the morning. I need to do a detox tomorrow; no caffeine and only green tea, natural seasoning…and maybe some ice cream. And exercise. I need proper exercise, although I have to say that window-shopping and walking to the library burned up a lot of calories.

My students forgot their homework and their stationery. Needless to say, I was not impressed, and I’m not sure if I got my pens back. Another parent saw me tutoring the kids at the library and has asked me to tutor her kids as well. Am going to send her my CV sometime in the weekend.

Now I’m going to have to complete an entire Chance Encounter V: Fountain of Youth chapter (all five thousand or so words) before Friday midnight GMT. I’m praying that my muse will not let me down today.

2 responses to “Easy Breezy

  1. J May 13, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    Some of your outfits are good, you have some really nice pieces especially the shoes, but with most of them you are missing the mark completely. This one ages you at least 2o years. You are adorable though.

    • telcontarrulz May 13, 2010 at 4:13 pm

      Thank you for you comment. Perhaps the ‘aging’ effect of my outfits has something to do with the fact that I feel older than my age. And I’m in my twenties.

Leave a Reply

