Style of Mine

The adventures and struggles of a petite, geeky journalist-in-training living in New Zealand.

Comfort is Key

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

By now, you’ve probably all realized that I kind of slack off during Fridays. It was a particularly miserable Friday today. I had three hours of sleep the night before, a full day ahead of me, and I had to do more walking than usual. Therefore, I wasn’t really thinking of style as much as comfort. Thus the old boots, which are my most comfortable walking shoes. I later got mud all over them.

Why the walking? I had to go and hand in my CV at a chocolatier. I figured I’d have a better chance if my CV came with a person instead of an email. It shows genuine interest in the job. I’m crossing my fingers and hoping that it works. Then I went shopping. I wandered all over the mall looking for a pair of perfect flat ankle boots at a reasonable price. There was one pair…but they didn’t have my size. It sucks having the smallest sized feet because they just don’t buy so many pairs in that size. So I gave up on boot shopping and went blouse shopping. It’s nearing winter, so now is the best time to scoop up nice bargains on leftover summer stock. As long as you buy things that are relatively basic, classic, and timeless, no one will know that you’re wearing last year’s stuff. Frankly, I don’t care if they do. I feel good in it, and that’s all that matters.

That coat is not couture. It’s not even a very well fitting coat. However, it’s comfortable, kind of like wearing a dressing gown, except I look more put together than I would if I had stepped out in my dressing gown. I wore it almost everyday for six months during my first year in university. That seems so long ago. And no, I didn’t buy it. Someone didn’t want it anymore and gave it to my mom. I took it off her and I haven’t given it back.

Wearing bamboo tunic, cloth belt, leggings, flat boots, vintage coat.

Leave a Reply

