Style of Mine

The adventures and struggles of a petite, geeky journalist-in-training living in New Zealand.

Preliminary meeting

Photobucket

Photobucket

Wearing puffer jacket with faux fur trim hood, blazer, merino turtleneck, scarf and black stretch pants that look like dress pants.

I applied for a job as a part time sales person. Dressing for job interviews, I find, are difficult. You want to be professional, feminine, if you happen to be female, well put together, but not boring or too sexy. Where to find the balance? For this job, I wanted to appear suitably well groomed, practical, but not too fashionable. I think the yellow puffer jacket, for a cold day such as this, symbolizes cheerful practicality. I haven’t worn a puffer jacket in…how many years?

Anyway, there was a whole list of candidates. I think I have a five percent chance of landing the job. My father was dreaming when he said that it was easy to find work in this city.

Leave a Reply

