Style of Mine

The adventures and struggles of a petite, geeky journalist-in-training living in New Zealand.

Sense and Sensibility

New bag

Owl cocktail ring

Owl earrings

No, I haven’t really gotten my act back together yet. I just happened to have an interview for an internship position working at the local newspaper office as a researcher (fingers crossed!) this morning so I had to get dressed appropriately and put on the subtlest eye make-up I’ve ever done in my life, because I wanted to look awake, but not siren-like.

The interview didn’t go too badly. They asked me why I chose this position (it integrated my two majors, it was at the local newspaper office and I want to become a journalist, and someone emailed me three times about it), what languages I could speak (Mandarin and Cantonese; the smattering of French, Latin and Arabic does not count because I can’t speak fluently in those tongues, unfortunately), what I would do if I figured out I couldn’t cope with the workload (tell someone and come up with a solution), what I did to support myself (uh…nothing? I live at home. *Cheeky grin*), and what I see myself doing in five years (journalism, hopefully, or screenwriting). It was a really quick interview, though; it took all of fifteen minutes.

Went accessory shopping this afternoon; totally wore the wrong shoes. The oxfords might have a low heel, but somehow, they rub the tops of my toes. Initially, I was looking for belts. None of the belts I liked fit, and those that did fit I could live without. None of the statement necklaces had the right vibe, or they’d easily snag on something and I am a clumsy clumsy person. There was a lovely pair of electric blue cut out platform booties on sale for a great price, but they didn’t have my size. I was so disappointed. Still, I’ve been eyeing a pair of shoes on the Topshop website (They actually ship to New Zealand! I was so excited when I found out about that.) and since I didn’t spend too much today, I think I should actually be allowed to buy them. They’re a bit on the expensive side, but they’re gorgeous!

In the end, I ended up buying a cocktail ring in ‘small’ that only fits on my thumb, and a pair of earrings to match. Ever since I saw animal jewellery on Jane Aldridge’s blog, Sea of Shoes, I’ve been thinking that this kind of jewellery is so much more interesting than the usual jewels. Not that jewels aren’t nice, but I simply can’t afford to spend $200 on a tiny little band with one tiny little stone; if I had $200, I’d splurge on shoes or a nice dress made out of real silk. So the owl ring and earrings are a cute way to add a bit of bling without breaking my bank account.

And here I am, writing an essay about nothing in particular. I seem to be very good at waffling on about absolutely nothing. Maybe that’s why I’m a writer.

2 responses to “Sense and Sensibility

  1. Mitchell July 3, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    Hi! should have come to AGATHA 🙂

    • telcontarrulz July 3, 2010 at 8:41 pm

      Must remember that for when I finally visit Auckland! 😀

Leave a Reply

