Style of Mine

The adventures and struggles of a petite, geeky journalist-in-training living in New Zealand.

Shopaholic

Topshop

Photobucket

My order from Topshop arrived today. I was so excited I actually squealed out loud, and I was loud. These shoes look gorgeous on. I can’t wait until the weather warms up so I can wear them out! I also ordered a dress, and I would have posted a picture, but it’s no longer on the website, and the real thing is way too wrinkled to be photographed properly at the moment. It resembles origami right now. I don’t have pictures of the outfit I wore today because it was boring. Since I was so busy admiring my new shoes, I didn’t have time to think about an outfit, so I went with pants and shirt. You can’t go very wrong with a tailored shirt. The most interesting part was the amethyst pendant I wore; I scored it a while back on TradeMe, which is New Zealand’s version of Ebay. I find so many bargains there.

Creative writing class it turning out to be not so helpful. I never got the point of writing classes where they go, “Look what this writer did.” I suppose imitation is the best way to learn, but with a subject like creative writing, it’s important to develop one’s own theme and style. The fact that we’re discouraged from writing fantasy is already a great limitation on our creativity. I have to say I still don’t get the point of short stories. For many of them, the point seems to be that there is no point or plot. It’s considered organic to ramble on and describe something mundane and ordinary. Seriously? I write to entertain, and it’s really hard to entertain someone without a plot. Fiction is a way to escape reality. I don’t want to read about my ordinary life, and I don’t want to write about it either.

Anyway, enough ranting. I have a pic spam below the jump, where I played around a bit.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

