Style of Mine

The adventures and struggles of a petite, geeky journalist-in-training living in New Zealand.

Back from Hiatus!

I’m back! Perhaps my muse isn’t, but at least it’s not freezing cold anymore so I can actually play around with different items instead of making a beeline for my coat and boots every time. It makes dressing less boring.

So with the gross sales tax in New Zealand increasing, I’ve found myself becoming addicted to online shopping. To date, I’ve bought four dresses online, and I wish I’d had the guts to try online shopping sooner. Really, who can blame me? The quality, the pricing and the shape of the clothes are all so much better. I’m a very minor hourglass and in New Zealand, clothes are made to suit pear-shaped women. So the clothes I buy here are tight across the chest and loose around the butt. I’ve also bought three pairs of shoes, all with leather uppers. Well, leather and suede. Seriously, I don’t think I’ve actually seen real suede shoes in New Zealand, honest.

Anyway, I’ve recently survived an earthquake (7.1 on the Richter scale) and class has only just resumed. The university library is inaccessible. We survived with no damages to the house and only one dead goldfish. It might sound scary, being in an earthquake and all, and believe me, it was initially. I was half asleep and thinking that it was the train passing when the shaking first began, but then I realized the ground was shaking too much for it to be just the train. So with my adrenaline surging –and eyes closed– I rolled off the bed and got under it, all without actually standing up. As I lay there, waiting for the shaking to stop or some part of the ceiling to fall down, it occurred to me that I should have pulled my duvet down with me, as I was getting increasingly colder. The shaking continued for a while. When it stopped, I got up –having finally opened my eyes– and climbed back into bed, with warming up being my first thought. Then I realized that I should probably go and make sure that everyone else in the house was okay. So, with my legs shaking from the adrenaline surge, I went out of my room to bump into my mother, who’d been coming over to check on us. My brother had managed to sleep through the long anticipated major earthquake that our region was supposed to have ten years ago, my dad was perhaps a little too confident about his building design skills, as he stayed in bed too. Honestly, God missed them when He was doling out self-preservation skills. Dad’s main concern was his tropical fish, as the power went out so the water heaters were not working.

The rest of the city was much more affected by the earthquake. Luckily, no one died. The city centre looked like a war zone, with rubble everywhere. It was lucky that the earthquake had struck at four thirty five in the morning, so everyone was out of the city centre by then. If it had struck earlier, there would have been casualties.

So, that is my story of experiencing a quite major disaster. As a result, I got two more weeks to spend lounging around in my pajamas watching True Blood.

3 responses to “Back from Hiatus!

  1. Sara September 22, 2010 at 10:57 am

    Ha, true blood! Which season are you up to? I’ve only watched the first few episodes of season 1. Good but gory and too much sometimes!

    • F_Le_Rulz September 22, 2010 at 4:55 pm

      I’ve watched all existing seasons and I love it! It can be a bit much, but I’m addicted, having fallen for Eric Northman. 😛

  2. Sara September 22, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    i better watch out for him then!

Leave a Reply

