Style of Mine

The adventures and struggles of a petite, geeky journalist-in-training living in New Zealand.

The Northern Hemisphere

Everyone told me it was going to be cold in Hong Kong, and that I should take warm clothes for my trip. And here I am, spending most of my time in sleeveless tops and shorts/dresses. Most of the clothes I brought are unwearable. Merino would be unbearable! Yes; whoever said that it was going to be a ‘cold’ winter in Hong Kong really needs to give himself or herself a reality check. Twenty six degrees celsius is nowhere near cold. It’s not cold until it gets below fifteen.

Here’s my outfit today. I’ve been wearing this blazer every single day. It’s the only thing with sleeves I brought that’s acceptable in this weather.

Photobucket

The shopping is pretty great here. There are some pretty cheap things of debatable quality, but I found a silk/pashmina blend scarf for less than NZ$7.

Photobucket

And a denim shirt:

Photobucket

Hong Kong street style is quite different from what I’m used to seeing in New Zealand, Australia, the UK and the US (well, the blogs, anyway). Hoodies are considered fashionable. I wouldn’t wear one out of the house. It seems to me that they want to look sporty, but they’re not really sporty. Let’s face it; with the kind of busy lifestyle that most people lead, it’s hard to be committed to a sport or three. Me, I’m not sporty and I don’t want to pretend to be. I’m happy to be an eccentric writer.

4 responses to “The Northern Hemisphere

  1. missiworld November 30, 2010 at 5:03 am

    Yeah, US street style is very casual/sporty/lazy, especially when it gets cold here (woohoo, it’s going to be -4 tonight!). There will be sweatpants everywhere for the next five months. 😦

    • missiworld November 30, 2010 at 5:04 am

      Oh, and denim shirts are the best thing ever; I’ve become obsessed.

      • F_Le_Rulz November 30, 2010 at 7:53 am

        I love my denim shirt. Too bad the buttons keep falling off. I have to reinforce them when I have enough time and thread.

    • F_Le_Rulz November 30, 2010 at 7:52 am

      At least the cold would be an excuse for sweatpants, lol. In Hong Kong, people wear sweatpants and hoodies for fashion purposes. *Shakes head.* It’s actually very funny when people try so hard to be fashionable with tracksuits and sneakers.

Leave a Reply

