Style of Mine

The adventures and struggles of a petite, geeky journalist-in-training living in New Zealand.

Farewell to Summer

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Wearing vintage dress, ASOS shoes, Esprit bag, DKNY watch and Portmans hat.

My aunt gave me this dress when I went back to Hong Kong. It’s probably close to my age, and the fabric is falling apart a little at the back. There used to be lacing at the back as well, but the loops broke whilst I was wearing the dress on the plane back to New Zealand. I don’t think it was meant for someone of my chest size. But now it’s a lot more comfortable without the lacing at the back as my rib cage doesn’t feel constricted anymore.

I’m rarely out of heels in summer, unless I’m barefoot, but after the earthquake (and the very frightening prospect of having to walk home in four inch platform stilettos because all the buses have stopped and I have no way of contacting my parents because my dad’s mobile phone is out of batteries), I’ve taken to taking a pair of flats with me everywhere I go unless I am wearing flats. I’m not a fan of ballet flats for multiple reasons (i.e. they don’t flatter the shape of my feet at all, they keep falling off my feet etc.), but I like my oxfords. They’re comfortable, but they hide my bunions well, and they wrap around the foot so they don’t fly off if I walk too quickly. I really don’t get the ballet flat trend at all. Lots of girls wear them but I have rarely seen a girl wear them well. Maybe a couple of supermodels, but that’s about it. And so many ballet flats are just cheap looking nowadays; I have no idea how they’re supposed to be chic. I mean, gold and silver plastic? I do have a pair of sequined flats that resemble ballet flats from Skechers, but their soles are constructed like those of lightweight sneakers, so they feel completely different. They’re the flats I carry around all the time. Probably not as chic as I would like, but if I have to walk home after an earthquake, I don’t think style would be one of my top priorities.

2 responses to “Farewell to Summer

  1. missiworld March 11, 2011 at 6:51 am

    Regardless, those shoes are adorable! I don’t know why, but I’m really loving the navy coloured leather right now for accessories. Purses, shoes, belts, hats, doesn’t matter; I love them.

    • F_Le_Rulz March 11, 2011 at 4:39 pm

      Thanks! Navy is a pretty cool accessory colour, and I like these because they’re not dark enough to resemble school shoes.

Leave a Reply

